World Gambling Review Home - Library - Sitemap

Equatorial Guinea Gambling

Equatoguinean Gambling Laws

By Reno Rollins

Casino gambling is legal in Equatorial Guinea, but this appears to be restricted to slot machines. It is unknown if any other forms of gambling are allowed under Equatoguinean law.

Casinos in Equatorial Guinea

There are six operational casinos in Equatorial Guinea. With the exception of Game Surprise, all casinos are owned and operated by Games World.

- Game Jocker (Zona Sanitaria - Calle Evera Mambo, Bata, Equatorial Guinea) Open daily from 11am until 3am, this casino offers 24 gaming machines. A bar is also located on the premises. For more information, visit their website at

- Game Lucky - Malabo (Calle Juan Pablo II, Plaza del Reloj, Bata, Equatorial Guinea) Open daily from noon until 3am, this casino features 31 gaming machines. A bar is also located on the premises. For more information, call +240 813-10.

- Game Surprise (Nueva Carreteria, Bata, Equatorial Guinea) Only slot machines are available at this facility.

- Game Master (Avenida de las Naciones Unidas, Malabo, Equatorial Guinea) This casino is open daily from 9am until 1am. Fifteen gaming machines and one bar are located on the premises. For more information, call +240 962-55.

- Game VIP (Calle de la Libertad, Malabo, Region Continental, Equatorial Guinea) This casino is open daily from noon until 3am. The casino features 38 gaming machines and one bar. For more information, call +240 962-55.

- Gaming King (Calle 3 de Agosto, Malabo, Equatorial Guinea) Open daily from 11am until 3am, this casino has 28 gaming machines and one bar. For additional information, call +240 962-55.

Equatorial Guinean Facts

Located in Central Africa, the Republic of Equatorial Guinea is bordered by Cameroon and Gabon. One of the smallest countries in Africa in terms of land area, it is comprised of two regions: Insular Region, which contains Annobon island and Bioko Island (where the capital of Malabo is located); and Rio Muni, a continental region which includes several islands. In terms of population, it is the smallest country in Africa.

While its name might imply contact with the equator, no part of Equatorial Guinea actually crosses the equatorial line. Most of the country lies north of the equator, while the island of Annobon is located 100 miles south.

Fernao do Po is credited with discovering the island of Bioko in 1472, while trying to find a path to India. In 1474, Portugal colonized the islands of Fernando Po and Annobon.

In 1778, the islands and commercial rights to the mainland were given to Spain in exchange for land in the American continent. From 1827 until 1843, British forces kept a base on the island to fight against the slave trade. Spanish sovereignty was restored in 1844, and the mainland portion became a Spanish colony in 1900.

From 1926 until 1959, the islands and the mainland were united as the colony of Spanish Guinea. On October 12th, 1968, they achieved independence from Spain and became The Republic of Equatorial Guinea.

As of this writing, the current president of the country is Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. He has vast powers over the government, and his re-election in 2002 was considered fraudulent by many members of the Western press.

Ministers and diplomats have been caught smuggling drugs in diplomatic bags, and much of the country’s yearly revenue is seized by the president for his personal use. Meanwhile, most of the over 500,000 residents of Equatorial Guinea exist on less than a dollar a day, and there are severe shortages in electricity and clean drinking water. In the capital of Malabo, sewage is known to run through the streets.

In 2004, there was an attempted coup against the president. While the attempt failed, it is believed that opposition leader, Severo Moto, was supposed to be installed as the new leader. In return, he would give favorable oil rights to the foreign corporations affiliated with financing the coup.

Equatorial Guinea is divided into seven provinces. They are:

- Annobon Province
- Bioko Norte Province
- Bioko Sur Province
- Centro Sur Province
- Kie-Ntem Province
- Litoral Province
- Wele-Nzas Province

In 1996, large oil reserves were discovered in Equatorial Guinea. This has greatly increased the government’s earnings. Fishing, farming and forestry are also important to the country’s GDP.

Most citizens of Equatorial Guinea are of Bantu origin, while 80% of the people are from one of the Fang’s 67 different clans. Other ethnic groups or tribes include: Ndowes, Bujebas, Balengues, Kombis, Bengas and Fernandinos.

Spanish, French and Portuguese are the country’s official languages. The majority of citizens speak Spanish, and it has been an official language since 1844. In 2007, Portuguese was also declared an official language. Other recognized regional languages include Fang, Bube and Annobonese.

Most mass media is heavily restricted and banned from criticizing public figures. While there are three state-operated radio stations, there are no daily newspapers. The media is under the supervision of the president’s son.

The country’s official currency is the Central African CFA franc. In 2005, the country was estimated to have a GDP of $23,796,000.

Christianity is the dominant religion in Equatorial Guinea, with most citizens following the Roman Catholic Church. A number of residents also practice traditional pagan beliefs.

United States Gambling
Canada Gambling
Mexico Gambling
Australia Gambling
Ireland Gambling
Italy Gambling
Switzerland Gambling
United Kingdom Gambling
Worldwide Gambling

Las Vegas Gambling
Reno Gambling
Biloxi Gambling
Atlantic City Gambling

Casino Games
Blackjack Games
Slot Machines

Online Gambling
Online Casinos
Online Poker
Online Bingo

Gambling Websites

E: East Timor Gambling, Ecuador Gambling, Egypt Gambling, El Salvador Gambling, Equatorial Guinea Gambling, Eritrea Gambling, Estonia Gambling, Ethiopia Gambling

Copyright 2007 - 2011, World Gambling Review. All Rights Reserved.