Online Casino Suite Home - Library - Sitemap

Brunei Gambling

Bruneian Gambling Laws

By Reno Rollins

Due to religious reasons, gambling is illegal in Brunei. Islam prohibits its followers from taking part in any form of gambling, and it is the official religion of the country. The sultan is the head of religion in Brunei.

Facts About Brunei

Brunei, also known as Brunei Darussalam, is located on the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia. It is surrounded by the state of Sarawak, Malaysia. It formerly belonged to the United Kingdom, but it regained its independence in 1984.

Brunei is divided into four districts. They are:

- Belait
- Brunei and Muara
- Temburong
- Tutong

Brunei is comprised of two unconnected parts, with 97% of the population living in the western section. The total population of Brunei is about 383,000, with the capital city being Bandar Seri Begawan. Major towns include: Muara, Seria and Kuala Belait.

Two-thirds of the population are of Malay origin, and the official languages of the country are Malay and English. Chinese is also widely spoken.

While Islam is the dominant religion, Buddhism and Christianity are also practiced.

Once a powerful nation, the Bruneian Empire began to decline in the nineteenth century following the loss of much of their land to the White Rajahs of Sarawak. Brunei then became a British protectorate from 1888 to 1984.

The media rarely criticizes the government or monarchy. For this reason, international organizations have labeled Brunei with “Not Free” status.

It is illegal to sell or consume alcohol in public. Prohibition was introduced in the early 90s, and all pubs and nightclubs have been forced to close.

United States Gambling
Canada Gambling
Mexico Gambling
Australia Gambling
Ireland Gambling
Italy Gambling
Switzerland Gambling
United Kingdom Gambling
Worldwide Gambling

Las Vegas Gambling
Reno Gambling
Biloxi Gambling
Atlantic City Gambling

Casino Games
Blackjack Games
Slot Machines

Online Gambling
Online Casinos
Online Poker
Online Bingo

Gambling Websites

B: Bahamas Gambling, Bahrain Gambling, Barbados Gambling, Belarus Gambling, Belgium Gambling, Belize Gambling, Benin Gambling, Bermuda Gambling, Bhutan Gambling, Bolivia Gambling, Bosnia & Herzegovinia Gambling, Botswana Gambling, Brazil Gambling, British Virgin Islands Gambling, Brunei Gambling, Bulgaria Gambling, Burkina Faso Gambling, Burundi Gambling

Copyright 2007 - 2011, World Gambling Review | Online Casino Suite. All Rights Reserved.